Utsikter från en balkong i Varberg

My manifesto

Posted in Datorer, Kultur by Martin Bagge / brother on 3/6 2009
            Some "Last Words"
Another source code to get used to, another way of coding to manage.

Damn kids. They're all alike.

So you're interested in actually taking a peek inside the brain of the
person behind the code. Or you are just that one guy thinking, "I can
do this better"?

I am a hacker, enter my world...

Mine is a world that begins with <?... I use structure and a typical
object oriented aproach in code.

Damn joe-cool-fixing-code-boys. They're all alike.

I'm at the university. Listening to some stupid almost-doctor, or
something, explaining the proper way to use a foreig key. I understand
it. "No Jelte, I didn't fall into the pit you setup in the assignment,
I was aware of how to do it".

Damn kid. Probably copied it. They're all alike.

I made a discovery today. I found Python. Wait a second, this is cool.
It uses indentation for code. If it don't execute, it's because I
didn't strike "space" the correct number of times. Not because it
doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me... Or thinks I'm a smart
ass...

Damn kid. All he does is play games. They're all alike.

And then it happened... a door opened to a world... cgi and ssi was no
more, rushing as heroin through an addict's veins, an electronic pulse
is sent out, a refuge from the day-to-day incompetencies is sought...
scripting with faked object orientation was found.

"This is it... this is where I belong..."

I know the commands here... even if I've never used them, never seen
them in use, may never heard from them before... I know them all...

Damn kid. Tying up emacs again. They're all alike...

You bet your ass we're all alike... we've been spoon-fed baby food at
school when we hungered for C... the bits of udp that you did let slip
through were proprietary and tasteless. We've been dominated by Real,
or ignored by FSF. The few that had something to teach found us
willing pupils, but those few are like drops of water in the desert.

This is our world now... the world of objects and language constructs,
the beauty of the linear. We make use of a new services without paying
for what could be dirt-cheap if it wasn't run by profiteering gluttons,
and you call us criminals. We use Free software... and you call us
criminals. We request for comments... and you call us criminals. We
exist without skin color, without nationality, without religious
bias... and you call us criminals.

You build bash scripts, you make them cron, you kill processes, fork,
and lie to us and try to make us believe it's for our own good, yet
we're the hackers.

Yes, I am a hacker. I am a criminal. My crime is that of curiosity.
My crime is that of hacking bad ass webservices to supply people with
easy to use Interface. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something
that you will never forgive me for.

I am a hacker, and this is my manifesto. Maybe you can make me use
Java or Ruby, probably not... after all, we're all alike.

Just a Manifesto or something. brother.



Läs även andra bloggares åsikter om , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Kommentera

